Home Training 101 Teens Children and Super Mom

Hello. Let me introduce myself, I’m Super Mom, Not really! I’m a former Super Mom. I’ve been known to: Have a clean home, Happy children, happy husband, great paycheck, great benefits, beautiful holiday decorations, organized,workaholic and much more.

Then one day, things changed. Life decided to smack me hard! I became an unexpected widow, Dreams of the teaching job became more profitable working for a major entertainment company, hours and check shortened first by motherhood ( my favorite job! I truly love my babies! ) Then…by becoming super Mom spending three hours a day in the car driving to and from school and work. I found myself a widow with one child, a new life and in a situation where I could help someone that I love. I became a Foster parent to my niece. Within a short time I began to adjust to my new lifestyle, no husband, busy job and a new child, age 6. Then, the little man came into my life. Just short of adopting my new daughter, God blessed me with a newborn “nephew ” that I brought home from the hospital a week before Christmas! Talk about a holiday surprise! A few years down the line, proving a lot to everyone from judges to family while raising three children as a single parent, one disabled child, one ADHD child and loving my family that God blessed me with, Super Mom was becoming worn out!

Although, the children have always had little chores, a friend brought it to my attention just how much Super Mom was doing for my wee ones. I love her term, Home Training! Of course, they know the basics! However, mom was doing it all from laundry, dishes, garbage and much much more! My friend and I talked about the fact that the older two are approaching the teen years and maybe they’ve been a little too coddled. Loving being a mommy, it was in my opinion, my duty to serve my family. Of course, they were already familiar with many chores from putting away their laundry, cleaning bedrooms, light duties like clearing the dinner table. Somehow, amongst the busyness of life, they were growing up on me. Gast forward about two years and they now have more responsibilities : Garbage, help with laundry (oldest does own laundry age 16), dishes once or do a week.

But what about Real Home training? They have manners, good hygiene, good school careers and extracurricular activities! I know they can handle money, One is learning to drive, they can cook light meals, they know the basics. However, what about real home training? For starters, we are not a home where gender roles of the past play a role. Boys and girls share in working in the home. A boy can wash laundry and a girl can take out the garbage. In our case, little boy is young but on occasion, he helps in a light kitchen cooking task as he’s only 6, he folds laundry with Mom, picks up toys, helps feed the dogs,dusting and putting away laundry. Not to much but it’s an introduction to caring for the home and family.

The young ladies are helping by doing dishes, light cooking, vacuuming, garbage and as mentioned, one does her laundry! Both ladies have taken a cooking class and for fun, one cares for her pet.

This fall-winter we are working on housework and cooking! One child is interested in cooking and is taking a wonderful culinary course in school. She has cooked two dinners this week. She made chili and she made porkchops, mixed vegetables and baked potatoes. She was very proud of herself! She did a great job! I’d like for her to work on organization, cleanliness when working in the kitchen and learn to wash her laundry.( She is 14.)

The eldest lady is really good at her chores. I’d like to have her work on cookin. She’s amazing with time management! She’s got it together! I’d also like to increase her cleanliness skills in the kitchen. Fortunately, it’s small things thay she can overlook… remove food from kitchen sink drain and clean behind the faucet. Little things but important nevertheless.

Little boy would be great to continue learning to clean his bedroom and pick up toys. I think he’s on the right track. I’d like to work on organization and time management. I’ve read where it can be helpful for young children as well as challenged children to learn how to follow a written or image driven schedule. He would benefit to learn how to progress from evening chores with ease. He has a. Little trouble staying on task as he transitions from (after bathing ) dressing for bed, brushing teeth, basically the evening routine.

Overall, I miss Super Mom! I feel more like a supervisor sometimes as I try to keep them on task and teach them to correctly complete chores. “Please do this, please do that, don’t forget this, pick up that and so forth.) I want for my children to learn the basics of running the home, caring for basic needs to prepare for the college years and beyond. I miss them being little, I still enjoy getting them off to school each morning (even though I’m not a morning person). I’m happy my schedule had changed and I can be home for them after school. I don’t miss spending three hours a day in the car! Thankgoodness that I was able to slow down the hustle and bust.

Super Mom misses everything being perfect but understands the task of teaching /home training the children for their future and well being! There are days when I wonder if other parents worry about home training? Did my parents worry about it? Will everything just fall into place naturally as they grow and mature? Am I just being overprotective?

Today’s challenge : I feel bad making my teens rewash unclean dishes but I know health and Home Training are important ! I’m nice about it but feels rotten.

Where do you stand on Home Training?

One response to “Home Training 101 Teens Children and Super Mom

  1. I am a firm believer that it is never too early to start age appropriate chores. After all a parent’s job is to ultimately teach children to become happy, loving, self sufficient adults. My kids enjoy doing some jobs but realise the there are others which may not be very fun or interesting, like picking up the dog poo, but yet it still needs to be done. My two sons are 8yrs and 11yrs old. Both have been doing chores since they could walk and never knew it. From putting toys away to watering the plants and helping sweep the leaves. My 8yr old, among other things – vacuums his room, unpacks the dishwasher, sets the table, makes his own lunch for school (I check to make sure it is healthy), takes the rubbish out, can make someone a cup of tea, or himself a hot chocolate, assists with making dinner or vacuums the car. My 11yr old makes dinner for us once or twice a week (he would do it more if we let him) – meals like stir-fry, spaghetti bolognese etc, bakes cakes, cupcakes and slices, hangs the laundry out or brings it in, cleans the pool or mows the lawn. I am not saying they do all of these things all of the time. It isn’t about making them work, it is about being a family and families help each other out. Many hands make light work. Which then leaves plenty of time for fun, laughter, games and enjoying being a family.

Leave a comment